WIPC Charter

Goal of the Conference:

Women in Physics Canada (WIPC) is a national conference aimed primarily at (but not restricted to) graduate students in physics, astrophysics and related fields. The conference is generally held annually; the format of the conference consists of student presentations, keynote lectures, panel discussions and opportunities for interaction. WIPC is first and foremost a scientific conference, in which early career scientists have the opportunity to present their work and to hear plenary talks from leaders in the field. Its intent is also to provide support to early career women, encouraging them to continue in a career in science. The conference provides participants with the opportunity to network with women in physics from across Canada, to facilitate the sharing of experiences, ideas and advice. WIPC aims to foster a sense of community and belonging among participants.

Steering Committee

The steering committee (SC) is responsible for shaping the medium- and long-term course of the conference series; for deciding upon venues for the next conferences; and for selecting and inviting the keynote speakers for each meeting of the conference. The SC has approximately 7 members and is chaired by the next conference’s main organiser. It includes the immediate past chair and at least one member of CAP’s Committee to Encourage Women in Physics (CEWIP). In the long run, it is expected that SC members serve for 3 years, with the longest-serving members being replaced soon after each WIPC. The current SC decides on the replacement of the outgoing SC members.

Steering Committee Membership

Anne Broadbent, University of Ottawa

Melanie Campbell, University of Waterloo

Sarah Johnson, Simon Fraser University

Janis McKenna, University of British Columbia

Adriana Predoi-Cross, University of Lethbridge

Sabine Stanley, University of Toronto

Li-Hong Xu, University of New Brunswick